Association of Nova Scotia Villages

Service Nova Scotia & Municipal Relations

The Municipal Services Division of Service Nova Scotia and Municipal Relations maintains the legislative framework in which municipalities operate and is the window into Nova Scotia's 55 municipalities and 22 villages. The Division provides advice, assistance and program support to municipalities. Areas in which Municipal Services works with municipalities include:

  • financial management and administration
  • legislation, governing structures;
  • land use planning and environmental concerns;
  • infrastructure and engineering programs; and
  • special matters of provincial-municipal concern.

Our web site pages provide much in the way of information that is of interest to municipal employees, elected officials, residents, students and others who seek a greater understanding of municipal government.

Please visit for more information.